+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Low end Nikons don't have ISO 100

  1. #1

    Question Low end Nikons don't have ISO 100

    I have encountered 3 other photgraphers (usualy on shoots) that the low end Nikon's dont have ISO 100 built into them.. Is that true??

    If so, what model of Nikon has ISO 100 as its feature?

    I was really amazed to see that they did not ISO 100..

    Chris
    Camera DSLR Canon: Two Xti 400D
    Camera Sony:
    5.1 Cyber-Shot (Point & Shoot)
    Glass:
    Tamron 28-80mm F3.5-F5.6 | Tamron AF 75-300mm F4 - F5.6 | Sigma AF 50mm F2.8 DG Macro | Sigma AF 105mm F2.8 DG Macro | Sigma AF 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG | Sigma 20-40mm F2.8 DG Asphirical | Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 APO EX DG Macro | Sigma APO Tele Converter 1.4x EX DG |
    Grear: Sekonic Exposure Meter L-380B | Tripod Manfrotto 785B - Modo | Tripod Manfrotto 3011BN + Manfrotto 3265 Pistol Grip | Speedlight 430 EX Flash with LumiQuest Softbox | Two 5-in-1 Bounce Reflectors | Four(4) 1800 Ultra - White Lightning Strobes with lots of light modifyers and filters | Muslin Backdrops | 14 Various Light Stands & Booms | 20 Gigs of CF Cards (various sizes) |

    NAPP Member since 2000

    Chris M Carroll
    StudioCMC
    Bear, Delaware



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Nassau, New York, United States
    Posts
    9,844
    Images
    3013
    Yup its 100% true... I know that the D70-series does not have ISO100... I cant remember if the D100 series does or not... the D200 series does though...
    Ross Mealey
    Canon Professional Services Member

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    3,957
    Images
    1
    thats one of my complaints about my d50. my only iso options are 200, 400, 800, and 1600. there has been many times i have wanted something inbetween or above and below the limits and i couldnt get it. but i guess its a consumer grade camera and most people dont have needs beyond that.
    http://www.dslocum-photography.com

    Nikon D300
    Nikon 18-200VR
    Sigma 70-200 f/2.8
    Nikon SB-600

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oxford, Connecticut, United States
    Posts
    12,105
    Images
    45
    maybe their ISO200 is more like canons 100? naahhh prolly not, sounded good though.
    Canon EOS 30D With grip, various lenses and stuff...

    see my pics at www.brokenfencephotography.com

    Visit me on Facebook..

    Feel like helping some homeless Pets?
    the proceds from any of the products purchased go
    directly to helping CT animal shelters.
    www.helpwillysfriends.com.org

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Nassau, New York, United States
    Posts
    9,844
    Images
    3013
    I always thought it was really strange as well... you would think that a lower ISO would be easier for a sensor to handle since it isnt taxing on the processor and sensor like a higher ISO is... I CAN understand only making it to ISO1600 though on consumer grade cameras...

    I remember on the first nightshoot that Trish had to get different settings and such as the nightshoots are normally shot at ISO100 as well... I actually shoot in ISO50 on my cameras whenever possible...
    Ross Mealey
    Canon Professional Services Member

  6. #6
    Does it really matter? The D50 is nikons best noise performing camera up to the D3. It even 1up's the D300 from what i've seen.

    I'm buying a 40D for christmas though
    Have:
    Canon 40D
    50mm F1.4 USM

    Soon:
    BG-E2N Grip
    580EX II

    Selling:
    Nikon SB600

  7. #7
    Even the high end D300 does not have a ISO of 100. The lowest named ISO is 200 and you do a -.03 -.07 -1.0 to get to the ISO 100. The D200 has a ISO of 100.

    Just for knowledge sake and my first message to the forum.

    Troy

    Quote Originally Posted by StudioCMC
    I have encountered 3 other photgraphers (usualy on shoots) that the low end Nikon's dont have ISO 100 built into them.. Is that true??

    If so, what model of Nikon has ISO 100 as its feature?

    I was really amazed to see that they did not ISO 100..

    Chris
    Love the ocean love the beach come live in Virginia Beach, VA USA

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Nassau, New York, United States
    Posts
    9,844
    Images
    3013
    Welcome Troy...

    Thats really strange that they took a step backwards like that with the D300... I wonder why...
    Ross Mealey
    Canon Professional Services Member

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    3,957
    Images
    1
    the iso of the D300 is 200-3200 and is expandable to 100-6400 with the stops.
    http://www.dslocum-photography.com

    Nikon D300
    Nikon 18-200VR
    Sigma 70-200 f/2.8
    Nikon SB-600

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Orgnoi1
    Yup its 100% true... I know that the D70-series does not have ISO100... I cant remember if the D100 series does or not... the D200 series does though...
    Ross is absolutely right. My D70 only goes to 200. I went shooting many times this summer with a friend shooting a Canon and he would be shooting at 100 and ask me to try it to see the difference and I couldn't.
    Nikon D70
    Nikon 18-70
    Nikon 70-300
    Nikon SB600
    Canon Power Shot SD 630 Digital ELPH (for the bike)
    http://www.flickr.com/michaelthenry
    http://myspace.com/drivintheshortbus

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts