+ Reply to Thread

Thread: how much do meter's run?

Images

how much do meter's run?

Aron and I were discussing light meters, what the best kinds are and how much the price range is for a good one. I am still new at this so would like to know if they are multi function inside and out or if there are differant ones ofr differant things... I have heard alittle about them but again never realy payed attention till last night and would like to learn more... Thanks to anyone who can help me out...
    As of April 22dn I am now Mrs. Aron Cartes.. (aceman152)

Images
    There are many different kinds of light meters, but generally there are a couple of readings that they will allow you to take. Your camera has a reflective meter, meaning that it measures the light reflecting off the subject. Most hand held meters will also measure incident light which is the light falling on the meter's sensor. Incident light isn't affected by the material of the subject. Many of them can also trigger strobes so that you can measure the light they are producing. The Sekonic L358 is a very popular model and is about $250. This is what I use, because you can buy a chip to put in it that will wirelessy trigger Pocket Wizards... avoiding the need to move your sync cable from each strobe to the meter. A meter is a very handy tool for general photography, but absolutely essential when using studio strobes.

"Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter..."
    Ansel Adams

"... So don't choke and screw it up!" Me

Mike Collins

Canon 5DMk3 (gripped), 17-40L f/4, 24-70L f/2.8 II, 70-200L f/2.8 IS II, 100 f/2.8 Macro, 135L f/2, 200L f/1.8, TC1.4 II, TC2 III, 600EX-RT (2), ST-E3-RT
    Sigma 15 f/2.8 Fisheye

Images