+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Extract Jpeg from Raw file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oxford, Connecticut, United States
    Posts
    12,111
    Images
    45

    Extract Jpeg from Raw file

    So supposedly you can extract the Jpeg thats hiding in each RAW file.. so instead of shooting RAW plus JPEG you can click on the RAW and be shown a JPEG version, (i take it its the same JPEG thats displayed on your cams LCD screen during playback) so i just DL the program i will tell you if it works.

    The link to the download is here http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/2008/archives/2027 maybe halfway down the article.
    Canon EOS 30D With grip, various lenses and stuff...

    see my pics at www.brokenfencephotography.com

    Visit me on Facebook..

    Feel like helping some homeless Pets?
    the proceds from any of the products purchased go
    directly to helping CT animal shelters.
    www.helpwillysfriends.com.org

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oxford, Connecticut, United States
    Posts
    12,111
    Images
    45
    ok so i installed it but still cant see jpegs from raws.. lol ill go look into this problem.
    Canon EOS 30D With grip, various lenses and stuff...

    see my pics at www.brokenfencephotography.com

    Visit me on Facebook..

    Feel like helping some homeless Pets?
    the proceds from any of the products purchased go
    directly to helping CT animal shelters.
    www.helpwillysfriends.com.org

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oxford, Connecticut, United States
    Posts
    12,111
    Images
    45
    Ahh it works and it works good, no more shooting RAW + Jpeg..lol what you do is right click the raw, and when the menue pops up you click on the Extract Jpeg and it throws a jpeg into its own folder, so you can select multiple raws and open all the Jpegs into a seperate folder to view em.. not as good as the old Microsoft raw thumbnail viewer but this works for me. I believe it works for most RAW formats too.
    Canon EOS 30D With grip, various lenses and stuff...

    see my pics at www.brokenfencephotography.com

    Visit me on Facebook..

    Feel like helping some homeless Pets?
    the proceds from any of the products purchased go
    directly to helping CT animal shelters.
    www.helpwillysfriends.com.org

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    3,957
    Images
    1
    sounds like too much work, i will stick with lightroom, it handels raw just fine.
    http://www.dslocum-photography.com

    Nikon D300
    Nikon 18-200VR
    Sigma 70-200 f/2.8
    Nikon SB-600

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oxford, Connecticut, United States
    Posts
    12,111
    Images
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by nvr2low
    sounds like too much work, i will stick with lightroom, it handels raw just fine.

    Ahhh but its not... lightroom is an edtor, this is just a viewer.. when you shhot raw and download, you have no preview of the shots, no thumbnail view when you look in the folder.. unless you open bridge or lightroom, wait for all the folders to pop up then navigate to the correct folder.. with this, you right click the folder thats on the desktop, click on instant raw extraction, then youll get all thumbs of the raw files, only in jpeg form.. now you know what raw is what so you can edit the ones you want to. just as if you shot raw + jpeg then down loaded them to your desktop..
    Canon EOS 30D With grip, various lenses and stuff...

    see my pics at www.brokenfencephotography.com

    Visit me on Facebook..

    Feel like helping some homeless Pets?
    the proceds from any of the products purchased go
    directly to helping CT animal shelters.
    www.helpwillysfriends.com.org

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rochester, New York
    Posts
    2,574
    I was shooting RAW and JPG myself put then I was draining my card. I think this is a great idea.
    www.flickr.com/photos/oldnavy170

    Canon XTi
    Canon 85mm 1.8 Prime Lens
    Canon 50mm 1.8 Prime Lens
    Sigma 28-70mm 2.8-4.0 Wide Angle Lens
    Canon 18-55mm Kit Lens
    Sigma 500 DG Flash
    Continuous Lights (Generic Brand )

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    6,352
    Images
    812
    I'm not sure if you really need this. A lot of viewers are able to read the imbedded JPEGs directly from within the RAW files... so no need to extract. The thing is, that the JPEG you create with RAW+JPEG is a good file that is capable of being used for final copy if you wish. The embedded JPEG is just a thumbnail file... much, much smaller than the one you get with RAW+JPEG.

    But if it works for you... that's great. Different strokes for different folks.

    My problem with RAW+JPEG is a bit different. I am quite happy with the JPEG files my Mark III produces and since I use Lightroom, I've decided to see if I can shift to RAW. Well the images I end up with after the RAW conversion never loook anywhere near as good as what I get from shooting JPEG. Dang proprietary things drive me crazy.

    "Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter..."
    Ansel Adams


    "... So don't choke and screw it up!" Me

    Mike Collins



    Canon 5DMk3 (gripped), 17-40L f/4, 24-70L f/2.8 II, 70-200L f/2.8 IS II, 100 f/2.8 Macro, 135L f/2, 200L f/1.8, TC1.4 II, TC2 III, 600EX-RT (2), ST-E3-RT
    Sigma 15 f/2.8 Fisheye

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    3,957
    Images
    1
    hmm, i usually just import every thing into lightroom then decide what to edit as i go through the folder there. i think it works better for me that way.
    http://www.dslocum-photography.com

    Nikon D300
    Nikon 18-200VR
    Sigma 70-200 f/2.8
    Nikon SB-600

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oxford, Connecticut, United States
    Posts
    12,111
    Images
    45
    it could be me... everytime i try a raw viewer, when i open the program, it searches my HD for files and takes forever, then it wants to open all of them.. the reason i like this is right click a folder of raws, convert it and stick the resulting jpegs in with the raws and now i have the raw file with a jpeg file next to it.. both now i can look at each pic and decide which ones i want to work with. Like Mike said, different strokes. I used to love the Microsoft raw thumb viewer but it doesnt work with the 30D's raw files... it only worked with my Pro1..


    *Edit.. WOW reading this over again, it looks like a crazy person wrote it.. Sorry*
    Canon EOS 30D With grip, various lenses and stuff...

    see my pics at www.brokenfencephotography.com

    Visit me on Facebook..

    Feel like helping some homeless Pets?
    the proceds from any of the products purchased go
    directly to helping CT animal shelters.
    www.helpwillysfriends.com.org

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    6,352
    Images
    812
    Quote Originally Posted by nvr2low
    hmm, i usually just import every thing into lightroom then decide what to edit as i go through the folder there. i think it works better for me that way.
    You're saying you see the RAW and JPEG files separately in Lightroom? For me, it always stacks them and takes the RAW file to work with.

    "Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter..."
    Ansel Adams


    "... So don't choke and screw it up!" Me

    Mike Collins



    Canon 5DMk3 (gripped), 17-40L f/4, 24-70L f/2.8 II, 70-200L f/2.8 IS II, 100 f/2.8 Macro, 135L f/2, 200L f/1.8, TC1.4 II, TC2 III, 600EX-RT (2), ST-E3-RT
    Sigma 15 f/2.8 Fisheye

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts