PDA

View Full Version : What is HDR?



GraphyFotoz
08-20-2007, 07:19 AM
Forgive my stupidity but what is HDR and how is it done? :o: :confused:

JustinL
08-20-2007, 07:32 AM
take multiple photos to expose for one scene. Your objective is to expose for the shadows and highlights all properly. Then you merge all of the photos together in Photoshop (CS2 or greater) or other programs like Photomatix.

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/hdr.shtml

When you do this, you'll need a tripod and when you expose for the shadows and highlights, you'll want to keep your f# constant and only adjust the shutter speed.

GraphyFotoz
08-20-2007, 07:48 AM
Sounds and looks complicated to me! :o: :rolleyes:

zacker
08-20-2007, 07:58 AM
Nahh use the 3 shot Bracketing on your cam in AV mode, set it on a tripod, and fire off a three round burst in raw, open in CS2 and use the merge to HDR tool.. or try the free version of Photomatix (much easier and better than the PS merge tool) and then clone out the water marks!

JayVig
08-20-2007, 02:46 PM
In a pinch if you take only a single shot in RAW, then you can use software to overexpose by a stop and underexpose by a stop and save each of those plus one properly exposed. Then you'll have your 3.

stoneylonesome
08-20-2007, 03:38 PM
Check out the Photomatix web site, they have a pretty good exclamation of it plus some samples. You can also download the trail version which is the same as the purchased one except it leaves a watermark on the photo. http://www.hdrsoft.com/ (http://www.hdrsoft.com/)

zacker
08-20-2007, 04:17 PM
In a pinch if you take only a single shot in RAW, then you can use software to overexpose by a stop and underexpose by a stop and save each of those plus one properly exposed. Then you'll have your 3.

ive never had good luck with that, maybe one out of three works..Hmmm... i gotta get that tone mapping plug in for Ps. wonder if my PM key code will work to unlock it?