PDA

View Full Version : using the 580 ex II as a slave



StephM
04-06-2010, 12:28 PM
I have the canon xti with the 430ex speedlight. I am thinking about buying the 580ex II and using it as a slave. Is this possible and what other equipment will I need to make it all work? What mount will I need to hold the flash? I am hoping it will be wireless.
Thanks for your help

Orgnoi1
04-07-2010, 05:12 AM
Steph unless there is a way to cable it with a synch cable the 580ex will not slave from a 430ex... but it will work in reverse... the 430ex does not have the IR transmitter on it... only a receiver while the 580ex has both TX and RX...

Hope that helps!

StephM
04-07-2010, 05:53 PM
Thanks for the help! I'm glad it's as easy as reversing them! Thanks!

Orgnoi1
04-07-2010, 06:28 PM
Welcome... glad to help!

StephM
04-10-2010, 12:00 PM
I real dumb question yet.... The flash that will not be on the hot shoe on the camera..... What do I need for that??? Like a monopod???? but what do I need to connect it???? Thanks for the help :)

Orgnoi1
04-11-2010, 05:51 AM
Monopod or the included self stand... you actually dont "connect" the flashes... the 580ex will have a switch on the bottom rear that says master/slave.... you will set that to master... I dont recall off hand on the 430ex but that may just fire automatically... if it doesnt its probably a menu option to set it to slave...

StephM
04-11-2010, 08:21 AM
Oh, that answers my question! Thanks Yes the 430ex has a switch for slave. Thank you so much! I really appreciate the help! Steph Miller