PDA

View Full Version : When "First Curtain" just doesnt do the job...



Orgnoi1
12-01-2008, 05:13 AM
I was playing around last night with the lights and noticed I could catch the shutter if I went above 1/250" on my 5D... I also tried "Second Curtain" as well but with the same effect... so knowing my total lack of knowledge of lighting is there a way to *get past* the fastest shutter synch speed?

TomNanos
12-01-2008, 09:40 AM
Only way to do that is to increase the flash duration to longer than your shutter speed - that's what the Canon Speedlights do in High-Speed Sync mode (actually, they flash a series of short burst, lower power flashes, the sum of which cover the entire time the shutter slit traverses the sensor). You sacrafice actual flash power by doing that.

Second curtain sync only means it fires the flash just before the second curtain begins to move.

Orgnoi1
12-01-2008, 04:04 PM
Maybe I should just stick with ambient light shots...LOL

zacker
12-01-2008, 06:29 PM
nahhhh just adjust your AV... lol